Update on the dog situation

Mum and I went to another rescue shelter at the weekend and found a dog that we were interested in. We went back the next day for a proper meeting/ walk with him and we both really liked him. One of the staff members then asked us if we could take him home this week, which was a slight shock as they’d said he’d need several meetings before being taken home. We’re having a home inspection on Friday and, if that goes well, visiting him again with the whole household on Saturday, then taking him home this Sunday. I didn’t expect this all to happen so fast but I am really excited about getting a new dog. Dad and I spent last Sunday afternoon dog-proofing the garden – I helped dad fix the fence which had been blown over by the high winds at the beginning of the year, and we made sure that there were no gaps anywhere – and mum and I went out and bought a basket, a food bowl and some dog toys last night. I still need to come up with a name for him though. The centre staff named him Gabriel but I really don’t think the name suits a dog so will be renaming him (sorry to disappoint any Peter Gabriel fans). I’ve narrowed it down to two different names but I really can’t decide between those. I know it sounds ridiculous but I’m getting a bit stressed out about the fact that I can’t decide on a name for him. I don’t even know if either of the two names I’ve narrowed it down to suit him/ if I even like them. Yes, I over-think absolutely everything. Goodness knows what it’ll be like in the increasingly unlikely event that I ever have a child.

The dog that we’re (hopefully) getting is a year and a half old border collie x Staffordshire bull terrier cross. He was apparently a stray before ending up the centre so I’m not sure how much the staff actually know about his history, if anything. He does have some behavioural problems – he gets overexcited very quickly and will jump at you and literally do a back-flip off you. He also pulls on the lead. I’m hoping that we’ll be able to handle it/ correct that behaviour. He is still young, should be very intelligent given that border collies and staffies are both very intelligent breeds, and he’s very food motivated, so hopefully training him will go well. The dogs at that centre unfortunately only get a 10-minute walk each day, so hopefully he will be better behaved once he’s getting around 2 hours of walks a day. He’s a ball of energy.

I’ve been feeling a bit weird all week. I know this sounds really pathetic but I started crying* and felt really negative after mum and I got back from shopping last night. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s just because I still miss our old dog and I’m also worrying that we won’t be able to handle the new dog and it’ll all go wrong. It feels odd that he’ll actually be my own dog. I just don’t know why I feel so stressed out about the whole thing.

* The past year or so, I seem to have cried a lot. I seem to be crying more as I get older, oddly.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update on the dog situation

  1. Sarah says:

    It’s so great that you’re adopting a dog!

Leave a Reply

